The Division of Learning

The Division of Learning provides support for curriculum, instruction, and student assessment in Charlotte County Public Schools.

This includes ensuring that the instructional program of the district adheres to Florida Standards and Florida State Statutes. The staff of the Division of Learning supports schools through many areas including the following:

  • District Strategic Plan / District Improvement & Assistance Plan
  • School Improvement
  • Student Progression Plan
  • School Grades & Accountability
  • Professional Development
  • Exceptional Student Education
  • Career & Technical Education
  • State & District Assessment Guidance, Resources, & Support
  • Data Service & Analysis
  • Instructional Materials Adoption
  • Instructional Strategies Implementation
  • English Language Learner Support
  • Federal Programs & Grants
  • Virtual Instruction
  • Home Education
  • Charter Schools

For links and online resources for students please visit the: Florida Department of Education's website.
Florida Department of Education Logo

Documents

Executive Director of Learning

District Compliance Officer
Charter Schools
 
Cheryl LaPorta Edwards
941-255-0808 Ext. 3160
Cheryl.Edwards@yourcharlotteschools.net

Departments

Elementary Learning: Grades PK-5 & English Language Learners: Grades PK-12

Carmel Kisiday
941-255-0808 Ext. 3089
Carmel.Kisiday@yourcharlotteschools.net View our District Plan for Services to English Language Learners (ELL)

Secondary Learning: Grades 6-12

Cheryl LaPorta Edwards
941-255-0808 Ext. 3160
Cheryl.Edwards@yourcharlotteschools.net

Career and Technical Education (CTE) K-12

Deelynn Bennett
Deelynn.Bennett@yourcharlotteschools.net

Exceptional Student Education

Kristy Johnson
941-255-0808 Ext. 3100
Kristy.Johnson@yourcharlotteschools.net
Visit our Exceptional Student Education Website

Charlotte Virtual School & Home Education

Tara Whisenant
941-255-7507
Tara.Whisenant@yourcharlotteschools.net

Curriculum Specialists

English Language Arts, Reading, & Media K-12

Phebe Westby
941-255-0808
Phebe.Westby@yourcharlotteschools.net

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)

Cynthia Dunham-Derheimer
941-255-0808 Ext. 3076
Cynthia.Dunham-Derheimer@yourcharlotteschools.net
STEM Website

Social Sciences PK-12

Donna Dunakey
941-255-0808 Ext. 3087
Donna.Dunakey@yourcharlotteschools.net
Social Studies Website

Fine Arts, World Languages, Health, PE & ELL

Ellen Harvey
941-255-0808 Ext. 3178
Ellen.Harvey@yourcharlotteschools.net
Fine Arts, World Languages, Health, PE and ELL Website

Math

Dawn Johnson
941-255-0808 Ext. 3054
Dawn.Johnson@yourcharlotteschools.net