The Division of Learning

The Division of Learning provides support for curriculum, instruction, and student assessment in Charlotte County Public Schools.

This includes ensuring that the instructional program of the district adheres to Florida Standards as specified in Florida State Statutes. The staff of the Division of Learning support schools through many strategies including:

  • Professional Development
  • Assessment/Data Service
  • Instructional Strategies Implementation
  • Student Progression Plan
  • School Improvement
  • Federal Programs
  • English Language learner Support
  • Digital Learning
  • Instructional Materials Implementation

For links and online resources for students please visit the: Florida Department of Education's website.
Florida Department of Education Logo

Documents

Departments

Elementary Learning

Carmel Kisiday
941-255-0808 Ext. 3089
Carmel.Kisiday@yourcharlotteschools.net

Secondary Learning

Cheryl Edwards
941-255-0808 Ext. 3160
Cheryl.Edwards@yourcharlotteschools.net

Career and Technical Education (CTE) K-12

Deelynn Bennett
Deelynn.Bennett@yourcharlotteschools.net

English Language Learners

Carmel Kisiday
941-255-0808 Ext. 3089
Carmel.Kisiday@yourcharlotteschools.net
View our District Plan for Services to English Language Learners (ELL)

Exceptional Student Education

Karen Owens
941-255-0808 Ext. 3100
Karen.Owens@yourcharlotteschools.net
Visit our Exceptional Student Education Website

Home School

Tara Whisenant
941-255-7507
Tara.Whisenant@yourcharlotteschools.net

Curriculum Specialists

Elementary English Language Arts and ELL

Phebe Westby
941-255-0808
Phebe.Westby@yourcharlotteschools.net

Secondary Literacy: ELA, Reading & Media K-12

Kym Sheehan
941-255-0808 Ext. 3163
Kym.Sheehan@yourcharlotteschools.net
Secondary Literacy & K-12 Media Website

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)

Cynthia Dunham-Derheimer
941-255-0808 Ext. 3076
Cynthia.Dunham-Derheimer@yourcharlotteschools.net
STEM Website

Social Sciences PK-12

Donna Dunakey
941-255-0808 Ext. 3087
Donna.Dunakey@yourcharlotteschools.net
Social Studies Website

Fine Arts, World Languages, Health & PE

Ellen Harvey
941-255-0808 Ext. 3178
Ellen.Harvey@yourcharlotteschools.net
Fine Arts, World Languages, Health, and PE Website

Math

Dawn Johnson
941-255-0808 Ext. 3054
Dawn.Johnson@yourcharlotteschools.net